Trying to determine %Recovery with Custom Fields

Hello!
I'm new to custom fields and have been trying my best to reverse calculate based on what my predecessors at my company have done. We are trying to determine a %recovery based on amounts obtained. We have a linear regression which gives us an amounts value for our 5 RSD standards and control standards. Want to determine %Recovery based on these amounts. Currently this is the formulas I have been working with:

Name                                            Calc
A_Bracket_Std_EDTA                   C1%.%.%(Amount)
B_Avg_Std_EDTA                         S101.%.%.AVE(Amount)
C_Percent_Recovery_EDTA        (A_Bracket_Std_EDTA/B_Avg_Std_EDTA)*100 

and at the end to show pass/fail
D_Percent_Agreem_Check_Crit   
RANGE([C_Percent_Recovery_EDTA_Cont],98.0, 102.0)

I feel that I have something incorrect in the A or B function but I unsure what that would be.

Any help would be great!

Answers

• Are you getting the correct values for those custom fields when you compare with using Excel or a calculator? Are all the custom fields generating results or only some of them, which custom field is causing the issue?
  • I'm not getting any results (Column/row is blank) based on those custom fields. Since D relies on C and C relies on A and B it makes sense. I'm just not sure why I'm not getting any results for the first two custom fields. These fields worked if I was doing the same thing for Peak area so I thought I would just substitute AVE(Area) for AVE(amount). Unfortunately, no luck. 
  • Thanks for that. First, make sure you have the Summarize Custom Fields function as the last line in the sample set, and the processing for this row is set to Normal and the Label Reference for the row is blank. This function is required to calculate any summary functions such as AVE, MIN, PROD etc. I presume your search order is Result Set Only for the CFs? The other options make it very tricky for summary CFs to work correctly.