Is there a logical way to calculate this assay?

Options
I have never worked with internal standards before, here is my question:

I have two actives (X and Y) derived across 2 different pda wavelength channels. Internal standard is spiked in with sample solutions. I need to calculate % Assay as follows- get the response of my active peak area/internal standard peak area. Multiply this by my dilution value and divide by (average response over two injections* Sampleweight). This result is divided by a Target and multiplied by 100 to return the final result of % Target. 

Now to me this seems like a pretty typical "Amount" calculation but I'm not sure how to set it up as its an internal standard. I was going to use custom fields for this but it seems like a lot of hassle if Empower can do this using a mix of the component editor, processing methods and sample set. Can anyone help with this?

Best Answers

• MJS
    MJS
    Answer ✓
    Options
    Do you intend to process the internal standard at the same wavelength as each of the two actives?  For example, active X is at 220 nm and active Y is at 250.  You integrate and quantitate the internal standard at both wavelengths, not just one of them?

If you do, then the built-in internal standard fields apply and you shouldn't have any problem calculating amounts by utilizing the typical/built-in fields.  I think that the limitation is that Empower would not be able to calculate amounts if the internal is not in the same processing channel as the active and that would require you to create a rather cumbersome custom field, or, as discussed in other threads, utilize something like a timed event or alter your instrument method with an event to create a single channel for processing.