Empower Project Preferences - copying to new Project

Empower gurus,When creating a new project in Empower, it gives you the option to copy preferences (and other stuff) from a specific "master" project into the newly created project. My understanding around preferences is that they are on a per-user / per-project basis. Assuming this is correct - then which users preferences get copied to the new project. Several people could have different user preferences in the master project? Does it copy preferences for each user forward, or is there some default that gets propagated?We have repurposed some of the fields and in "Alter Sample" or "Run Samples" windows, we want everyone to see a name that is more descriptive of its intended use(rather than the actual field name). We would like to set this preference in the master project, and then propagate it to users during new project creation. Thanks for any guidance you can provide around this subject,Kevin KolodsickConsultant ChemistAnalytical Sciences R&DEli Lilly and Company

Answers

  • Hello,

    Preferences are also set when creating a new project.

    User preferences in a project include:

    • Table font preferences
    • Table color preferences
    • Plot font preferences
    • Plot color preferences

    The Copy Preferences refers to these Table and Plot preferences. If a project does not have associated preferences, Empower software applies user preferences. Project preferences override user preferences, for example, if a project contains a font preference that differs from the font preference specified in the User Properties dialog box, the project's font preference are copied instead of the user's font preference.

    By setting these preferences in a master project, they will propagate and override the users' preferences when creating new projects.

    Giving fields a new descriptor in the "Alter Sample" or "Run Samples" windows, should not be a problem as long as the descriptive name is all that changed.

    Other things to remember, the QuickStart and PRO interfaces have separate preferences which generally do not overlap. The copy that take place can only handle users who exists in the source project, i.e. when you create a new user, their preferences have to be set in a project, then copied to the master before the master knows about it. Lastly, the parent child relationship is separate.

    Hope this helps,

    Dot

Sign In or Register to comment.