Conceptual: Response factors

<p>I'm relatively new to HPLC and response factors are giving me some trouble.  My supervisor believes that a response factor can be created between any two compounds that absorb at the same wavelength and do not interefere with eachother.  In practice, this does seem to be the case.  However, if any two compounds happen to have different slopes (Area vs Concentration) then a response factor can only be created at a specific concentration.  A universal response factor cannot be created that works at all concentrations, even if these concentrations are all in the linear portion of the curve.</p><p></p><p>In an attempt to prove this, I ran 0.01 mg/mL and 0.2 Vitamin A acetate in duplicate and ran 0.01 mg/mL and 0.2 Vitamin A palmitate in duplicate.  I received different response factors when comparing the two concentrations.  I have not tested the upper limit of Acetate in terms of linearity, so there does exist the possibility that this response factor is different for that reason.  However, at least in theory- if two compounds have different slopses, one cannot create a reponse factor between them, correct?</p><p></p><p>Thank you for your patience in a possibly "newb" question.</p><p>Wes</p>

Comments

• There are detector's that come close to providing a universal reponse, Evaporative Light Scattering & Charged Aerosol Detectors, a UV absorbance detector is not one of of them.

UV absorbance is governed by Beer's Law (or the Beer-Lambert Law) whose equation is:

A = ebc.

Where A = absorbance, e = molar absorbtivity of the sample, b is the path length of the sample (flow cell path length for an HPLC/UPLC UV Detector), and c is the sample concentration.  e is nothing more than the absorbance exhibited by a molar concentration of a substance at a defined wavelegth and defined sample path length.

A quick internet search will provide you with more information about e than you could possibly want.