Stable Isotope Internal Standards for LC-MS/MS

Options
<p>I have been doing LC-MS/MS method development for almost 15 years and have used stable isotope internal standards for much of that time. Recently I have been asked to start to tutor other staff in my group on quantitative LC-MS/MS method development. I have been trying to find references for the use of stable isotope internal standards but have been unsuccessful. Does anyone know where I can find references for a detailed explanation of the calculations, consideration and propagation of errors that occur with the use of stable isotope internal standards? Specifically I am looking for information regarding internal standard recovery limits and the propagation of error if the internal standard recovery is too low or too high, impact of density on the calculation (standards by volume but samples by weight), limitations for correcting matrix effects, and limits for using the internal standard to correct for sample dilution or concentration during sample preparation. </p>

Answers

• Hello:

One of the Waters Senior Applications Chemists in Chemistry Applied Technology wrote a document a while back that describes some of the limitations of stable isotope labeled internal standards when it comes to compensating for matrix effects. It has some references in it as well- again describing instances where SIL internal standards do not adequately compensate for matrix effects.

You can download the paper here:

http://www.waters.com/waters/library.htm?lid=10063413&cid=511436

The literature code is 720002438en if that helps.

Hope this helps.