Carryover issue on UPLC

<p>Dear All,</p><p style="height: 8pt"/><p>Have you met carryover issue on UPLC system? Currently we are trying to develop an UPLC method for carbamazepine, and the carryover issue happened! The strong solvent and the weak solvent we used for the injection system are 100% acetonitrile and 10% methanol individually, the wash volumes for both solvents are 200 uL. We have tried to change the strong solvent to 100% methanol and to increase the wash volume to 600 uL but useless. We have met this similar issues on the other drug substances before. Since we could not overcome this issue on UPLC system, we back to HPLC system without any problems.</p><p style="height: 8pt"/><p>Do you have any good suggestions to resolve this problem? Thanks a lot!</p>

Answers

• Dear Shihhao,

I have been running applications on the ACQUITY UPLC since late 2003 and I will try to assist you with this problem. Could you please provide me with more detail?

1. please describe your sample and sample matrix.
    2. chromatographic conditions
      1. column,
      2. chromatographic solvents
      3. gradient
      4. flow rate
      5. wash solvents & volumes
      6. injection volumes
      7. mode of detection
    3. system description: do you know which needle you have installed? Is it still the needle which came with the systems?
    4. Sample manager serial number (this can be found in the console or on the front panel of the sample manager when you open the door ).

my email address is: pat_mcconville@waters.com

Any information you choose to share concerning the applicaiton you are running is considered confidential and will not be shared with others without your consent.