Degasser operating pressure range?

<p>Hello, I'm relatively new to UPLC. I've been using this system about 4 months now, and recently I'm having baseline drift problem that I had not seen before. I figured when I degassed the mobile phases manually, the baseline didn't drift. Now, the in-line degasser seems to be working okay. I mean if it's not, I would have gotten some sort of warning message?? We have 3 Acquities in our lab. The degasser pressure reading on each system is:</p><p></p><p>System #1: 0.42 psi</p><p>System #2: 0.49 psi</p><p>System #3: <strong><font color="#ff0000">0.68</font></strong> psi</p><p></p><p>The #3 is the one I've been using. Although not that big difference, I was wondering the somewhat higher pressure than other 2 is an indication of ineffective degassing? I've read thru the Operator's guide and the console help, but I couldn't find any statement about degasser. What is the proper operating pressure range? How would I know if the degasser is not operating properly? Waters team, please let me know... and fellow UPLC users, what is your system's pressure reading??</p><p></p><p>(My mobile phases are water and methanol with 5%IPA, running gradient, if that makes any difference with pressure reading) </p>

Answers

• Hello:

Do you have an example of the drift so that we can see it?

I will get an answer on the values to expect for the pressure.

Liz

• Here you go.

• Here is further information on ACQUITY degasser operation. The error message for the degasser will trip if the pressure goes above 1 psi for 30 seconds.

Therefore the pressures that you are seeing are normal. The pressure differential are seeing is normal for system to system variation.

The 0.2 difference he just the normal variance of the transducer.

We do need to get more information about the problem to properly diagnose your issue.