Column Selection

Options
<p><span>Hello, </span></p><p></p><p><span>I'm new to UPLC and trying to convert a method from HPLC to UPLC. What UPLC column is the most similar to the Waters Symmetry C18? I only have BEH columns available so I tried the BEH C18 and the resolution is worse than HPLC. I am considering ordering a HSS column. I'm thinking the HSS C18 would be a better match? </span></p><p></p><p><span>Thanks, </span></p><p><span>Becky</span></p>

Answers

• Greetings Becky,

The HSS column might be a good option, but if you could provide a little more information, I'm sure we can offer several suggestions for a successful conversion. Is your method isocratic or gradient? What are the solvents and flow rates? What would you like to optimize; resolution, speed, sensitivity, solvent usage? Are you free to alter any, and all, parameters or are you under certain constraints?

Due to the reduced system volume of the ACQUITY UPLC, gradients will tend to develop more quickly. That is, for any given unit of time (or fraction of a column volume), the ACQUITY will more closely match the requested gradient composition. This can cause the relative peak retention to decrease and the peaks will trip over each other trying to get out of the column. Sometimes, a slight reduction in the overall slope of the gradient will put them back in their "proper" order. Even with this reduction in slope, it is almost always possible to define a flow rate and gradient time that will decrease the separation time when compared to HPLC.

Regards,

pcb