Software calculations differ from human calculations

Options
Hello!

I am new to chromatography and empower software, so be gentle. 
I have a problem with value (%) calculations:
1. Is there a way to see what actions dose the program do to calculate (like multiplication, division etc.)
2. The only things i enter are wight of standard and sample, and the dilution of standard. How dose the program calculate anything with just these?
3. The final concentrations of sample and standard are the same 60mg/L, and the area of sample is just a little bit smaller than that of standard, but (%) value of standard is 0.153, and sample it is 0,047. But should`nt these be close, as the concentrations are really close?

Weight of sample - 3,0640
Weight of stan. - 0,1550
Dilution of stan. - 10
Purity of stan - 99.5

Reaaaaally sorry for these dumb questions ;( 
Thank you for your time.  

Best Answer

• HeatherLongden
    Options
    I'm wondering if you are using the sample field Standard weight.... where you really need to put the amount of standard into the Component Amount. Very often in chromatography there are more than one component in a standard, and you need to add the amount of each component for Empower to draw calibration curves specific to each component. This is why you cant use a sample level field. That field called sampleweight is a correction field, it is commonly used for samples but rarely used for standards

Answers

• LMP
    Options
    Oh, and the calculations differ. 
    The on hand formula is - ((Area of sample)x(mass of stan.) x 100%)/((Area of stan.) x (mass of sample)x dilution)). 
  • MJS
    Options